Book Talk: January 2017 (Part Two)

Welcome to part two of Book Talk: January 2017. Below you will find what I thought about the short stories I read this past month. As always, I will only be brief in my thoughts as short stories are obviously short and I don’t wish to spoil their plots, or talk about weird theories around them.

Short Stories

Jerusalem’s Lot by Stephen King

This story is the first one (in my edition) from Stephen King’s Night Shift, a short story collection. This was by far my favourite short story for the month for a number of reasons. First, the story’s New England setting is true to King’s style, which is something I treasure deep when reading his works. The way it has been written, as well as its mid-19th century setting reminds me heavily of the works of Poe and Lovecraft. It is told entirely through letters and journal entries, which only evoked more terror in me whilst reading and gave it a classic horror feel.

If you want to experience classic horror, but with a much more modern style then I highly recommend you read this story. If you love other works by King, then you’ll enjoy this one too.

4/5

The Brown Hand by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

Sir Arthur Conan Doyle: the man who brought us Sherlock Holmes, tried his hand in many different genres in his lifetime: horror one of them. I adore him as an author and have enjoyed reading the adventures of Holmes and Doctor Watson in the past, but this story, The Brown Hand, is not one of them.

I had a lot of trouble understanding its plot, what characters were saying, and what I should be scared of exactly. Despite these, I found it quite intriguing into exploring the ideas around colonialism at the time, particularly around India. This doesn’t save it though from being a quite uninteresting read, in my own eyes.

2/5

An Episode in Cathedral History by M.R. James

And we go from one bad story to, unfortunately, yet another one. This one came from M.R. James, a popular classic literature writer of horror fiction. I came across this one in a collection of vampire short stories. I was quite interested in reading something from one of the legends of classic horror fiction, but this was a disappointment. I couldn’t quite understand what was happening in the plot, even after turning back pages. Turning back the pages only confused me even more, which in turn soured my experience.

M.R. James is a legend in horror fiction, and I will read more of his works in the future. As for you, dear reader, if you want a great story which you understand clearly, just ignore this one.

1.5/5

Mick’s Suit by T.A. Robinson

This story is the first one in issue 55 of Andromeda Spaceways Inflight Magazine. Although it was only a few pages long, I found it to be really enjoyable. It has a sort of quirkiness to it that I haven’t seen in many of the recent contemporary short stories I’ve read. I won’t spoil the plot, but I will say that you’ll be unsure if you want to laugh or be mortified.

If you’re into a fun, quirky story that you can read quick and find yourself enjoying then I recommend this one. If you just want something different, then I recommend this too.

3.5/5

Leave a Reply

